Resident Abstract Award Finalists and Winners

Tetrahydrobiopterin Improves Capillary Perfusion and Decreases Leukocyte Adhesion within the Intestinal Microcirculation in Experimental Septic Shock in the Rat
Tristan Dumbarton, MD
Dalhousie University
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Quantification of Venous Pressures during Intravenous Regional Anesthesia
Borzoo Farhang, DO
University of Vermont FAHC
Colchester, Vermont

Predictors of Permanent Pacemaker Following Trans-Catheter Aortic Valve Replacement
Matthew Hoyt, MD
Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical Center
Enfield, New Hampshire

Extracellular Glutamate is Significantly Elevated in the Hippocampus of Awake-Behaving Aged Fischer-344 Rats Compared to Young Rats Following Craniotomy
Michelle Humeidan, MD, PhD
The Ohio state University Wexner Medical Center
Columbus, Ohio

The Incidence of Polypharmacy in the Pain Clinic Population
Michael Kim, DO
University of Colorado
Denver, Colorado

Transmission of Gram Negative Bacteria Found in the Anesthesia Work Area
Julia Peters, MD, MA
Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical Center
Lebanon, New Hampshire

The TREK1 Tandem Pore Potassium Channel: A Molecular Signal Integrator and Anesthetic Target
Paul Riegelhaupt, MD, PhD
University of California, San Francisco
San Francisco, California

Liposomal Bupivacaine in Total Knee Replacement: Preliminary Results of a Two-Surgeon, Retrospective Study
Hayden B. Rockson, MA
University of Massachusetts Medical School
Boston, Massachusetts

Clinical Calibration of Noninvasive Pulse Oximeters
J. Aaron Scott, DO
University of Massachusetts Medical School
Boston, Massachusetts

*Resident Abstract Award Winner*
Thrombospondin-4, A Glycoprotein Overexpressed after Nerve Injury, Disrupts CA2 Homeostasis in Sensory Neurons
Eric Simon, MD
Medical College of Wisconsin
Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Protective Role of Fingolimod (FTY720) in Rats Subjected to Subarachnoid Hemorrhage
Francesco Vetri, MD, PhD
University of Illinois at Chicago
Chicago, Illinois

Harms Associated with Single-Unit Perioperative Blood Transfusion: A Retrospective Cohort Study
Elizabeth Whitlock, MD, MSc
University of California, San Francisco
San Francisco, California