Grants and Awards
The IARS established its Grants and Awards Program in 1983 to further the scientific advancement of the anesthesiology specialty. To date, the IARS has funded more than 200 projects, contributing more than $14 million to the anesthesia community. Additionally, the IARS offers multiple awards to abstract submitters to the Annual Meeting. IARS members are eligible to apply for the following grants and awards.

“The IARS is willing to take a bet on new studies and important questions that larger funding agencies, like the NIH, are very unlikely to bet on.”

— Past award recipient

Abstract Awards

IARS abstract submitters to the Annual Meeting are eligible for multiple awards. IARS membership is not a requirement.

Research Awards

Frontiers in Anesthesia Research Award (FARA) – $750,000

This award was established in 1995 to foster innovation and creativity by an individual researcher in the anesthesiology field. The next FARA grant cycle will begin in late 2023 with a due date in early 2024.

IARS Mentored Research Award (IMRA) – $175,000

This award is intended to support investigations that will further the understanding of clinical practice in anesthesiology and related sciences. Up to four research projects are selected annually, with a maximum award of $175,000 each, payable over two years. The grants are intended to help create future leaders and prepare applicants to apply for independent research funding.

Initiative for Multicenter Pragmatic Anesthesiology Clinical Trials (IMPACT) – $50,000

This award was developed by a consortium of academic anesthesiology organizations with the goal of supporting the development of proposals for pragmatic clinical trials by anesthesiology investigators for submission to external funding sources, such as the NIH. A single award in the amount of $50,000 USD is made annually to enable a pilot or feasibility trial in preparation for the design of a multicenter pragmatic clinical trial.

B.B. Sankey Anesthesia Advancement Award

The B.B. Sankey Anesthesia Advancement Awards distributed more than $1 million from 1983 to 1993. There were 45 awardees for projects in clinical care, education, and administration, as well as laboratory and clinical research.

Ben Covino Memorial Award

Funded by a grant from AstraZeneca, the Ben Covino Memorial Awards were given to seven awardees, sponsoring almost $150,000 in regional anesthesia research from 1993 until 2004.

Chinese Research Prize

At the Chinese Society of Anesthesia (CSA) meeting, the Chinese Research Prize of $1,000 was awarded to promote and to share the IARS/CSA mission of best research advancement in the field of anesthesiology. This prize was awarded to ten Chinese scholars each year from 2008 until 2010.

Clinical Scholar Research Award

The Clinical Scholar Research Award was created to further the understanding of anesthesiology and related sciences in clinical practice through clinical investigations. After awarding almost $5 million to 62 recipients from 1994 until 2011, this award became the IARS Mentored Research Award.

SCA-IARS Research Grants

In 2009 the IARS pledged a gift of $1 million to the SCA Foundation to support the SCA-IARS Starter and Mid-Career Grants, and renewed that commitment for 2014 through 2017.

Teaching Recognition Awards

These awards were designed to recognize individuals with outstanding teaching skills and career contributions to the academic community. These awards were comprised of two separate parts, Innovation in Education and Achievement in Education.

Since 1983, IARS has offered a plethora of different types of research and educational awards. Learn more about some of the legacy awards awarded over the years.

Support IARS

Your donation will support innovative and forward-thinking anesthesia research and education initiatives to improve patient care.

IARS Membership

IARS is a unique group – solely dedicated to providing important information and resources to health professionals to improve patient care and advance education and scientific research related to anesthesiology.

Read IARS Publications & News

The IARS offers many publications and educational resources for its members, including Anesthesia & Analgesia, A&A Practice, and SmartTots News.


Support IARS

The IARS contributes more than $1 million each year to fund important anesthesia research. Your donation will help support innovative and forward-thinking anesthesia research and education initiatives, all of which are designed to benefit patient care. You can feel good knowing that 100% of your donation is directly allocated to research.