Annual Meeting Oversight Committee

The Annual Meeting Oversight Committee (AMOC) provides oversight for the aligned IARS, AUA and SOCCA Annual Meetings. The AMOC is a fast-paced committee responsible for the planning and execution of the IARS Annual Meeting and other educational opportunities throughout the year.

Members of the AMOC are a subset of the IARS Board of Trustees, with the exception of the Early-Stage Anesthesiology Scholars (eSAS) representative(s). The AMOC term is one year and members can be reappointed. The IARS Board of Trustees Chair assigns Board Members to serve on the AMOC each year and may request that AMOC members retain their positions from the previous year.

Allison Janda

Allison Janda, MD

Early-Stage Anesthesiology Scholars (eSAS) Representative

Assistant Professor, Department of Anesthesiology, University of Michigan; Co-Vice President, eSAS

Ann Arbor, Michigan

Seun Johnson-Akeju

Seun Johnson-Akeju, MD, MMSc

​Anesthetist-in-Chief, Henry Isaiah Dorr Associate Professor of Research and Teaching in Anaesthetics and Anaesthesia, Massachusetts General Hospital

Boston, Massachusetts

Max Kelz

Max B. Kelz, MD, PhD

Anesthesia Distinguished Professor; Chair of Admissions MD PhD Neuroscience Graduate Group, University of Pennsylvania, Perelman School of Medicine; MSTP Program Advisor, University of Pennsylvania; Director for Research Education, Department of Anesthesiology, University of Pennsylvania, Perelman School of Medicine; Director, Dripps Research Fellowship Program, University of Pennsylvania; Founding Director NEURRAL Center, University of Pennsylvania, Perelman School of Medicine; MSTP Program Steering Committee, University of Pennsylvania; Vice Chair for Research, Department of Anesthesiology & Critical Care, University of Pennsylvania

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

George A. Mashour

George A. Mashour, MD, PhD

Chair, Anesthesiology; Robert B. Sweet Professor of Anesthesiology; Faculty, Neuroscience Graduate Program; Professor, Neurosurgery, University of Michigan

Ann Arbor, Michigan

Christian Werner

Beverley A. Orser, MD, PhD

Affiliate Scientist, Biological Sciences, Hurvitz Brain Sciences Research Program, Sunnybrook Research Institute, Professor, departments of physiology and anesthesia, Chair, Department of Anesthesia, University of Toronto; Canada Research Chair in Anaesthesia, Tier 2

Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Y.S. Prakash

Y.S. Prakash, MD, PhD

Consultant, Department of Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine; Associate Dean for Research, Midwest, Mayo Clinic; Consultant, Department of Physiology & Biomedical Engineering; Chair, Department of Physiology & Biomedical Engineering, Professor of Anesthesiology and Physiology, Mayo Clinic

Rochester, Minnesota

Kimberly Rengel

Kimberly Rengel, MD

Early-Stage Anesthesiology Scholars (eSAS) Representative

Assistant Professor, Anesthesiology Critical Care Medicine, Vanderbilt University Medical Center; Co-President, eSAS

Nashville, Tennessee

Santhanam Suresh

Santhanam Suresh, MD, MBA, FASA, FAAP

Senior Vice-President and Chief of Provider Integration, Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago, and Arthur C. King Board Designated Professorship in Anesthesiology at Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

Chicago, Illinois

Vivianne Tawfik

Vivianne Tawfik, MD, PhD

Assistant Professor, Department of Anesthesiology, Perioperative & Pain Medicine; Principal Investigator, Vivianne Tawfik Lab; Director, Fellowship in Anesthesia Research & Medicine (FARM), Department of Anesthesiology, Perioperative & Pain Medicine, Stanford University

Stanford, California

International Anesthesia Research Society
90 New Montgomery Street, Suite 412
San Francisco, CA 94105

View our Summary